You are entitled to have your Medical Bills and Wages paid regardless of fault through the Personal Injury Protection, P.I.P., MA No Fault Statute
If you are involved in a Massachusetts car accident you may be entitled to Personal Injury Protection (a.k.a P.I.P. or MA No Fault Insurance) benefits through your own insurance company.
Under M.G.L. c.90 Section 34M, (P.I.P. Statute), your auto insurance company will pay the first $2,000.00 of medical expenses as part of the compulsory insurance required for all vehicles in Massachusetts. After the $2,000.00 is paid, if you have private health insurance, your own health insurance coverage would take over but PIP would remain available to pay out of pocket expenses such as copayments and deductibles. If you do not have health insurance, or receive insurance through the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (MassHealth), PIP will pay for your medical bills up to $8,000.00.
Personal Injury Protection (P.I.P.) not only covers reasonable and necessary medical and hospital fees it can also help you with other costs, relating to the accident, that occur within two years of the accident. Such expenses include:
- Medical Bills: P.I.P. covers reasonable and necessary medical and funeral expenses incurred within two years of the car accident.
- Lost Wages: P.I.P. covers 75% of lost wages caused by injuries sustained in an automobile accident. If you are eligible for a disability plan at work you will receive only 75% of the difference, if any, between the disability plan and the amount you would otherwise be entitled to under P.I.P.
- Replacement Services: P.I.P. pays for reasonable expenses to pay non-family members to perform services that the injured person would otherwise have performed for the benefit of himself and/or family members of his household. Such examples could include child-care, Home health aides, nursing expenses, and other help which is reasonable and necessary.
Who is covered by P.I.P.?
- PIP covers all occupants of your automobile,
- You and all household members if injured while occupying a vehicle that does not have Massachusetts compulsory insurance, and
- Any Pedestrians, including you, who are injured by a vehicle that does not have insurance or leaves the scene.
What is your duty under the P.I.P. Statute?
The laws and paperwork for instituting a P.I.P. claim can be complicated, time consuming, and filled with traps for the unwary that can jeopardize even your bodily injury claim against the person who caused your injuries; that’s why The Martino Law Group, LLC will handle all aspects of your PIP claim as your attorney for no extra charge to you.
Some important points to remember:
- You must, cooperate with the P.I.P. insurer in order to obtain benefits.
- The insurance company will send the P.I.P. application to you, the client, so there is no need to stress over obtaining the correct form. You must fill out, sign and submit the completed P.I.P. application to the insurance company.
- Second, the P.I.P. insurer has the right to have you examined by a doctor selected by the insurer.
- Third, we must submit evidence of your losses to the P.I.P. insurer and authorize the insurer to obtain such information that is pertinent to the claim.
- Fourth, the P.I.P. insurer has the right to obtain your statement under oath. If the statement is not taken under oath, you are not obligated to give a statement.
Failure to cooperate with the insurance company may result in denial of your claim. This duty of cooperation applies to uninsured and underinsured claims.
PIP protection is limited to $8,000 in coverage in Massachusetts and does not cover compensation for pain and suffering. In order to obtain compensation for pain and suffering, you should contact John Martino at The Martino Law Group, LLC and we will discuss the facts of your individual circumstance and could pursue a bodily injury claim, uninsured claims and/or underinsured claims on your behalf.
We at The Martino Law Group LLC would be happy to further discuss Personal Injury Protection, P.I.P, MA No Fault Statute and your case free of charge in an effort to help you Call (781) 531-8673 Now!